Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

wes

Glowstring vs Poi Discussion

69 posts in this topic

OMG it's 18 pgs long and im barely on page 3,,,,,must get coffee........

dear god... what a long discussion. i'm only on page 4 atm. i do remember the original thread on gs.c but didn't however, get a chance to read (neither did i know bout it) what HoP had to think bout the subject. woulda been nice to have the original thread saved as well though.

Well b4 i read the whole discussion, this is my 2 cents on the topic.

i believe that we have taken many steps since then to show the distinction between poi and glowstringing. there are many things that one can do and show with glowsticks that one cannot do w/ just a poi set (and vise versa of course, but since I’m no poi expert, I’m not gonna get into the poi aspects). Wraps and combo construction as wes mentioned in the discussion are good examples as well as string manipulations. though there are some string manips you can do with poi, you can never go as in-depth as you can with glowsticks because of the shape of the glowstick. for instance, you can't add tutting aspects to poi as well as you can with glowsticks. another example is my palm spin string manipulation. That string manipulation was made specifically with glowsticks and can’t be done with poi. even if you did managed to get the poi to spin in place, a stick spinning in place is much more appealing then a ball spinning in place. There is also djsparrow’s bow-tie string manip that can’t be done with poi either. Other than that, just due to the fact that it’s a stick creates a distinct visual appeal from poi.