Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Luminous

A short guide on Equilization (incomplete)

1 post in this topic

(Note: this guide is dealing with Equilization for the MIXING phase of audio ONLY, this does NOT cover using it as an effect, or during a live performance)

Uhh...hi, I'm Luminous. I've been composing for about 8-10 months now, is very interested in music for video games (I've remade some songs for games already, which are avaliable for preview on my facebook), been active in the audio industry for a year, and I'm a graduate of the Institute of Audio Research, I'm also getting into the post-production field, and uhhh...I had way too much soda today.

Anyways, on to the guide!

-----

Equilization is an extremely important part of mixing your music, in my opinion, it's the second most important thing, aside from compression.

First, if you arent sure on what an Equilizer (or EQ) is for short, you NEED to know.

an EQ is basically a level control for a range of frequencies, for example, if I want to turn a down the level of 2kHz to 6kHz, I can do that with an EQ.

There are numerous types of EQ's, and each of them serve a purpose. For this guide, I'm going to use a Parametric EQ. It's a very good idea, however, to know what each EQ does if you are very serious with your work.

(Note: I'm assuming you know the basics of audio engineering and production by reading this guide, if not, then learn it!!! It will help you make sense of most things that are being said here))

The parts of a Parametric EQ

Q: A simple letter, meaning "bandwidth", this adjusts how broad you want your range to be, the greater the Q, the less frequencies it affects, but the more precise it will be.

Frequency: Pretty self-explanitory, this affects where you want the main peak to be. Most EQ's /should/ have a range between 20 Hz and 20kHz.