Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TinyLightShow

Feeling overwhelmed....

10 posts in this topic

I wanna be a DJ.

I have no clue where to begin lol I need some pointers on what to buy, what equipment to start with, how to start learning, etc...

I have a vast knowledge of music theory and a very good feel for EDM, and I've gotten a few really good ideas with mixing songs together, I just don't know how to apply it O_o (not to mention, I'm a drummer, and have a VERY good sense of rhythm ;-) )

I downloaded a program a good while ago called VirtualDJ but I know its not even close to doing the real thing...

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!

I'm right along with you but luckily my friend is a DJ so he's giving me pointers along the way and not to mention the full version of VirtualDJ

but anyway he told me to start with VDJ, he said most people start with it and it just gives you a better feel for mixing songs and shit

but anywho, uhm he told me to buy some CD decks since Vinyl is expensive o_o

and to get Serato, which lets you mix from your computer straight onto decks or something but yeah

im still learning and hopefully some of the DJs here on GS.c can help me out too

same, I'm becoming more and more adept at producing every day, but as far a bridging the gap between making songs on the computer and mixing them live I have no idea where to start.

I'm Using Fruity Loops 8

and not much else.

Kanoodles post is informative though, hopefully we can get more discussion from more expirienced Djs.

ok....where to start indeed.....*once, needs to listen to music for this...*

*lights cigarette*

so, djing.....

before i started Djing, or even messing around making my own beats, i thought that DJs were the people that took beat tracks, and mixed in vocals and other sounds.....

for lack of better words, i KNEW NOTHING....lol