Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

usamablackbelt

I'm running into a problem...

12 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I'm running into an issue. I've been DJing digitally for about 4-5 years and I'm just starting to move to CDJs. I can get beatmatching down for the most part, except when it comes to fine-tuning the BPM.

You see, when the two tracks start to get out of sync, I can't tell if the track I'm bringing in is going slower or faster, unless it's by extreme amounts. Needless to say, this ends up with me wasting time fiddling around with the BPM, and me not really getting anywhere. Even if I think they're finally in sync, by the time I bring in the next track, it's already of out sync again. This is really frustrating. I've been at this point for a while now.

Any tips?

Memorize the beat in your head. Have it matched. Dont listen to it for 8 counts in your ear. Then listen to it and see how much its off. If it sounds fine tune, proceed to do the process again. Except now dont listen for 16 counts. Listen to it then at the end of the 16 counts in your head, and see where its at. Proceed to fine tune again. Pretty soon you'll rip it hard.

this is the main reason i think djing with VDJ or anythin like that is stupid and pointless

the second you get on the real stuff it doesnt matter one bit.

well anyways. if your using CDJs....they have a BPM count in the bottem right corner of the screen just make sure they both have the same bpm

if not...well then yea like the other guy said youll have to count 16 beats.

or if you have a poineer mixer im pretty sure they all have BPM counters.

personally, I hate using the bpm counters. I put duct tape over them on my mixer, there is just no way of telling if they are reading correctly of if something in the song is throwing them off.